Thoughts on Thirty-One:

When I was younger I never thought I would appreciate a good pen as much as I do now.

I have come to realize a lot of things in my life that I care about are just entertainment related and I could probably easily give them up and not be any worse off in my quality of life.

Being silly is different is just as much fun now as it was when I was 11.

I can finally grow decent facial hair.

Too bad there is so much grey in it.

When I was younger I enjoy watching baseball players hit home runs.  Now I think I enjoy a 12 pitch at-bat between a great pitcher and a great hitter that ends in a weak ground ball to third more.

While my music tastes in general have become more and more esoteric, I still love a really good pop/rock/hip-hop song.

I am slowly coming to realize that great friends and good relationship are the truly valuable things in my life.

While I have tried to develop a palate and start enjoying more varied and different tasting foods and even enjoy some of the finer food available to consumers, there is still something about the McDonalds Chicken McNugget that captivates me and makes me want to eat them.

I was not as misinformed about things as people thought I was when I was younger.  But I realize my priorities where way out of whack.

A well made video game can still be as engrossing to me as it was when I was a teenager.

I cannot say the same about the majority of the programming on network television.

Story means much, much more to me now.

But I am still willing to put up with big plot holes if you make it look pretty on the screen.

I appreciate clear, sunny, cloudless, days more.

And I find rainy days to be fun now too.

I still love trivia.

Even though I realize more and more how compromising/corrupt politicians are, I have become fascinated by the political process, legislation, elections, votes and such.

But as much as I like it I don’t think I would want to run for office, out of what it may make me do/become or compromise.

Congress, local law enforcement, the DMV, Best Buy during Christmas and the 5 freeway are all things that I think need to be blown up and rebuilt from scratch.

I also realize now as a regular middle class private citizen how very little power I have in the world.

Unless you count my power to still bake the best chocolate chip cookies you have ever tasted.

A well made cocktail makes things much better.

Being able to go home for lunch has sort have become a little treasure for me.

I want to help people more and give more, never would have thought of that when I was younger.

Oddly I was very conservative in my ideals and beliefs growing up, I can only imagine that was because I just believed what I was “Taught/Indoctrinated” with.  As I matured into thinking for myself I find I fall much more on the progressive/liberal side of the thought spectrum.

I still love baseball more than any other sport and every year I still think the Dodgers have chance.

In general my grammar is still bad and my spelling is still atrocious; but I know what sounds good to the ear and can fake my way through just about anything.

I don’t like being fake though.

I am not as easily provoked or upset as I used to be.

I do realize that most of my problems and the worlds just revolves around us being selfish.

I think I know how to live a good life…but doing the things that would be required seem quite difficult.

God is more important in my life now than ever before.

I also see his work around me more and more.

Prayer seems much more important now too.

Now I tend to think lists are over-rated.

But they are fun to read.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

