Archive for March 13th, 2012

{Product Review} Epson LabelWorks LW-400 Label Printer

Great Alternative to Brother Label Printers

I had always thought of Epson as a printer company.  As in you bought their printers for computer to print documents or photos…things like that.  I suppose it only makes since that they got into the label printing market too.

I had always used Brother brand label printers at work and I had been relatively happy with them, they printed labels for things that I needed to have labeled.  Well I have to say Epson has upped the ante.

First the printer is handheld, not too heavy, but not so light that it feels cheap and crappy.  I just use the batteries and I haven’t had to change them in the several months I have used the product.  You can use an AC adapter, but I have not had too.

When cutting the labels you do have to do it manually, no automatic cutter.  Probably a good thing as it saves on battery life and it is as simple as pressing down on a tab/button.

Epson is well known for have a dearth of features for their products and the LabelWorks LW-400 is no different.  You have 14 different fonts to choose from, almost a dozen different styles, I think just about every obscure symbol you could want is in there to use too.  The printer also prints barcodes if you are that hi-tech, although that isn’t me.

The other nice feature is that when you print labels there isn’t a lot of wasted label that doesn’t get printed on.  Like when I would use a Brother label maker, sometimes I would get an inch of blank label before the text started, much less on this product.  So you do not waste the label making material.  That is a very big plus in my book.

My only real beef is that the labels feel a little thin and cheap.  I haven’t had any problems with them quality wise, none have peeled off or failed for me yet, but they are significantly thinner than other brands.  I just think that is worth noting.

Finally the labels are affordable.  Thanks goodness you can find just about any style of label you need for under $20 on Amazon.  This is great as I know the brother brand labels especially the genuine ones get real expensive, most of the time on Amazon you can find the genuine Epson labels for $17.50.

So overall I am very pleased with the product.  If does what is claims to do and it does it quite well, and I highly recommend it.  If you have a question feel free to leave a comment and I will be happy to try to respond and answer.

{Book Review} Star Wars: The Old Republic: Deceived

The Run-Up and Backstory to The Old Republic Online Game

This novel takes place in the time right before and during the beginning of the Star Wars Bioware game The Old Republic. The story focuses on three major characters Darth Malgus (The main antagonist from the game), Jedi Knight Aryn Leneer and smuggler Zeerid Korr.

The story begins just as the cutscene from the game begin with the Sith led by Darth Malgus attacking the Jedi temple on Coruscant. We then follow the story of our three characters as their stories all begin to intertwine.

This book is good at keeping things within the Star Wars universe and not going to far outside the box. The author has penned Star Wars related books before and is an established fantasy/science fiction writer and it shows. The characters are multidimensional and in reading the story you begin to understand their motivations for what they do, rather than they just being good guys or bad guys.

A little bit of history is shown as too what led to the run –up to the war and how it was planned, but not enough in my opinion, but then this is a book about characters more so than the struggle between the Sith and the Jedi.

Overall I enjoyed the book. I found it to be a fun read and it fits well into the Star Wars universe and if you are a fan of the new Bioware game based on the Old Republic I think you might enjoy this book as well.

If you have any questions feel free to leave a comment and I will do my best to respond.